WINDOWS 8 RELEASED


I can say that when I heard this, I had the same feeling of dread I get whenever I have to face something in my life that I am dreading, and it has been keeping me in a state of depression, worrying about it. I know that no matter what I say or do, no matter how I twist and turn, that event will happen and I cannot escape the pain that will ensue…. That’s how bad Windows 8 is to me and to many other people who seem to have the sense to see what is being thrust before them.

We have kids all saying how great Windows 8 is, we have some tech people saying how wonderful Windows 8 is, but I grow tired of the fanboy, the people selling their useless pathetic books of secrets of the new Windows 8 operating system, and just wish more people would face facts and see reality on what is happening here.

Windows 8 is a pathetic attempt by Microsoft to emulate Apple’s OS’s and it fails so badly that I find it incredible that people really do think that the desktop environment is going to be transformed by this bastardised operating system. Apple has done it the smart way. They have their tablet operating system, iOS, they have OSX on the Mac, they have some features of iOS in OSX but it’s there in the background, pretty much wasted for most of us as we have no use for a tablet OS on a Desktop platform.

Microsoft should have done the same as Apple, and released a tablet OS and an updated version of Windows that actually worked and integrated into the server and office applications they currently have, but they are so greedy and in fact so lacking in vision these days that clearly with the people they have working for them at the moment, this was the best pigs ear of an OS they could come up with.

Maybe Microsoft needs to think of getting rid of some of the people they have there at the moment, as they clearly have no vision, no creative skills, no sense of what the real world wants. They only seem to think on how they can screw people over, and try to bullshit their way through another disaster of epic proportions. The sacking should start from the very top, and the heads should roll all the way down to the bottom so that they are left only with people with vision and talent… but by all accounts that means the offices of Microsoft may all be empty.

On Windows 8, we have people telling us how fast it is…. Heck it should be fast they have reduced the Colour scheme back to the days of the ZX Spectrum! We should be using the keyboard combination to do things, when in fact they are just reinforcing the statements that people like me are saying, that Windows 8 is useless for use in a daily business environment! The POINT of their operating system is touch on the screen, so why on earth would ANYONE want to USE the KEYBOARD????? HELLO? HELLO? Is there anyone there with a working brain cell?

The average user finds it difficult doing the easiest of tasks, but it is very easy to show and explain with Windows XP/7 in it’s normal form, and trying to remember keyboard combinations, where to flick on the screen for invisible items, and watching a screen flip between amateurish icons and the regular desktop, just creates a situation of utter confusion that tech support people must be dreading!

We will see many an office manager having to call the police as their staff erupt in frustration and they just run amok trying to find some way to vent their anger and frustration after having to use this piece of nonsense of an operating system.

As it stands, in the clients I have visited and demonstrated Windows 8 to, every single one of them (12 offices, 58 people) they have all said the same thing. I’m not using that! Well, a lot said things a bit more fruity, but it meant the same.

So, my feeling, my client’s feelings, are the same… Microsoft has the biggest disaster of an operating system release ahead of it, and no amount of PR and spin will change my mind or my client’s minds to use this operating system and we will stick with Windows 7 for all our desktop installations.

What my clients did say was this. Why doesn’t Microsoft get what they currently have, working correctly with everything else? Why don’t they have the operating systems secure from virus and malware attacks yet even after all these years?

The list goes on, as will the debate on Windows 8, but I am not going to conform to the blinkered attitudes of the people out there trying to sell a Donkey of an operating system to the people. I will not try to make money from people by bullshitting them into believing that Windows 8 will be great for them, when it will not be. What I will do is continue to sell Windows 7 to my clients, and if Microsoft continues down this road of madness to try to get rid of Windows 7, I think that a lot of my Client’s may be going the Apple route as at least with OSX, they are given a choice on how they wish to work.

I believe that Windows 9 will see Microsoft backtrack big style and if not, I believe that Windows 8 may be the operating system that finally made Microsoft lose it’s hold on the World’s desktops.

Posted on August 19, 2012, in Microsoft, Opinion, Review, Software, Wittering. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m surprised it took you this long to get this wrote m8 but totally agree with everything you have said here

  2. I had hoped that the final release would have seen Microsoft use common sense.
    But, as I have written in the article, there is a madman on the helm of the good ship Microsoft, and it’s racing towards the reef fast!!!

  3. u know me being a linux dood , this is the reason i have never used ubuntu and that unity stuff which too attemps to incorporate a Tablet UI / Desktop UI into the same entity , sad fact is it seems to be the way of the world now and like u say its what the kids want .. great write up.

  4. I totally disagree!
    why do you hate so much!
    Windows 8 , the newcomer,
    it’s bold, beautiful, authentic
    its fast, its fluid and well ,everthing feels just plain snappier!
    dont let Modern UI fool you this workhorse is ready for anything
    you can trow at it. from Facebook to Twitter integration it does it all!
    no more endless searching the web for the right app.
    thrill to over 250+ great appz & games in the amazing new appz store.
    with many more sure to follow!
    run for weeks on a singal battery charge.
    this is “the” Ipad killer, Apple is surely doomed!

    • I totally disagree!
      That’s great! It’s your opinion and good for you!!

      why do you hate so much!
      I hate the operating so much as it is not fluid in any shape or form for business desktop use.
      The operating system is a hurried mish-mash of idea’s that have been thrown together by Microsoft in an attempt to try and match Apple and their desktop and tablet operating system.
      It fails 100%

      Windows 8 , the newcomer,
      it’s bold, beautiful, authentic
      Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but to me gong back to the retro days of 16 colours and garish design is so amateurish that it makes a Linux desktop look professional!

      its fast, its fluid and well ,everthing feels just plain snappier!
      When you have limited colours being used, anything is fast. Heck, Even office 2013 now looks so similar to Open Office I think I can move people to the free software and just say it’s the new one from Microsoft!

      dont let Modern UI fool you this workhorse is ready for anything
      you can trow at it. from Facebook to Twitter integration it does it all!
      Any operating system can do that, Windows 8 offers nothing radically new at all.

      no more endless searching the web for the right app.
      thrill to over 250+ great appz & games in the amazing new appz store.
      with many more sure to follow!
      This may make a good piece fo writing for the Windows 8 Tomb Stone.

      run for weeks on a singal battery charge.
      this is “the” Ipad killer, Apple is surely doomed!
      LOL! Yes Apple is doomed…. I think I’ll go and sell all my Apple equipment and buy an untested Windows 8 tablet device…

  5. Totally agree.

    Went against my better judgment last night and installed W8 over w7. What a disaster it was.

    Not only that, but I think this is the first time MS has ever released a new OS that didn’t allow you to uninstall it from a previous version (with the exception of 98 > XP, but that’s more to do with the DOS > NT nature of the upgrade).

    It is such a stupid OS for a work horse Desktop OS. I can see the appeal of Metro for tablets, but why on a Desktop? I don’t just use e-mail and the Web (BTW, IE via metro is a nightmare!). Forget multi-tasking, it’s a pain switching from one thing to another. I’m an Engineer, I use Matlab and do C++ programing, and have a host of other programs open at once – jumping between them is a pain in W8. What was so difficult in being able to produce a version of W8 aimed at the desktop serious user (Isn’t this the point of Win 8 Pro!!!!) and having your home user with the metro and the likes?

    I’ve spent the last 5 hours getting my machine formatted and back onto W7 – I don’t know what made me skip over the ghosting of the W7 system before I jumped in with two feet. Thank got MS gives you a refund, at least here in the EU.

    Utter shambles! I can only envisage them splitting the product in two in the future. And to Ling Wa, Windows is used 70%+ in work environments, so two points made me giggle in your post:

    “this workhorse is ready for anything you can trow at it. from Facebook to Twitter integration it does it all!” – Facebook and Twitter is hardly the symbolic aim of a workhorse. “Thrill to over 250+ great appz & games in the amazing new appz store. with many more sure to follow! run for weeks on a singal battery charge. this is “the” Ipad killer, Apple is surely doomed!” – point 1, ‘great appz’ doesn’t matter when I’m a power user using real industrial applications, all I want is to get on with my work and jump between my tasks easily without having to second guess which corner to put my mouse pointer. Point 2 – “the Ipad killer” even if it is you passively prove the point – this is a tablet OS, and they’ve thrown it onto a desktop. It may offer Apple competition on the tablet front, but from a Desktop point of view if they don’t get their act together, I’ll be jumping ship to Apple, and I doubt I’m the only one thinking along this line! Funnily enough, there’s versions of the software I use now compatible with the Mac – looks like people are starting to take the sweet fruit far more serious!

    It may just be the Windows Desktop Killer!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

