New Computer System Thoughts…


At some points through the year I go through a phase of thinking…. and that in itself is a scary thought, but I think that maybe it’s time I gave serious thought to upgrading the main computer system I have here.
Now, let me say that the gear I have here is perfectly fine for everything I need a computer to do,  but as someone who is “into” technology there becomes a point where you just get and itch that means you want to upgrade, even though you know you really do not have to!

So, In my searching around, it has become clear to me that the market is full of interesting things, crap things, and overpriced things, and trying to work out what way to go has been quite an uphill struggle!

Still, I present my current thoughts on the system I am thinking of putting together and would be interested in hearing from others on the pro’s and con’s of the equipment I have chosen.
Rather than just a simple, “that’s crap” statement, it would be interesting to have a structured comment on where you feel the hardware is not something that should be purchased, and what would be considered a better option.

The one thing to point out here is that I am in no way interested in Games in any shape or form. So a gaming rig means nothing to me. What I am interested in though is SILENCE, SPEED, LIGHTNING FAST RESPONSE TIMES and something that is just TECH-SEXY!

Currently I am debating buying the following equipment to bring myself up to date on the technology front.

Monitor: X2 new iiyama ProLite B2712HDS-B1 monitors (details here)
Tower Case: Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced Black Mid Tower Computer Case (details here) – (£69.00)
Power Supply: Corsair 750 Watt (details here) (£132.00)
Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth TUF X58 Motherboard, USB 3.0, SATA III – (details here) (£159.00)
Processor: BX80601950 – Intel Core i7 950 Bloomfield 45nm, 3.06 GHz, QPI 4.8GT/s, 8MB Cache, 23x Ratio, 130W, Retail –  (details here) -(£223.00)
Memory: 12GB – Corsair Memory Dominator GT 12GB DDR3 2000 Mhz CAS 9 DHX XMP Triple Channel Desktop (details here) – £290.00
Video Card: GV-N98TSL-1GI – 1GB Gigabyte 9800 GT, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), 1800MHz GDDR3, GPU 600MHz, 112 Cores, D-Sub/HDMI/DVI, Passive – (details here) – £90.00
Main Hard Drive: OCZ 120GB Vertex 2E SSD – Solid State Drive (details here) –  (£176.00)
DVD Writer: Samsung Blu-Ray Combo, SH-B123L/RSBP, SATA, Retail (details here) – £47.00

Considering that these components are what are available near the end of 2010, it will be interesting to see the price differences that occur in 2011 when all the new tech bits are being released to the masses!

Posted on December 27, 2010, in Bored, How To, Microsoft, Opinion, Software, Wittering. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Gordon, you’re an intelligent guy, so I bet you put a lot of thought into your choices.

    Of course, I can’t help myself: “Get a Mac!”

    Beyond that, I’m not familiar with the monitor manufacturer. The other parts sound good. My preference is to get one computer with a full tower case so I can install a ton of hard drives.

    I wish you all the best, buddy

    • The thing with getting another Mac Ron is that I’d have to spend DOUBLE the amount to get hardware of lesser specification.
      Sure, I know its all going to look and feel great, but, with the changes afoot with Apple soon, it means I need to wait again, and then ignore first revisions of the hardware!

      Going the PC route means I get incredible hardware specifications and easy to fix components if they ever fail.

      But, never say Never and who knows what I’ll end up buying!!!

      Thanks for the input!

      • Helo Gordon
        I feel as usual you have studied carefully whats on the market the X2 new iiyama ProLite B2712HDS is a fine monitor but the 27 inch is far to big .The rest of the items are all good quality and I can say nothing bad about them .
        Buy everything as soon as you can .This will leave you with loads of rubbish to get rid of .Rather than dump your old out of date computer stuff why not give it to a family member old bother or someone like that .

        Justine

  2. did some one say …get a mac??

    dont start me please!!

    • C’mon J7, you have an iMac and deep down you love it. You just refuse to allow it to change your life, and remember, the problems you faced with your previous iMac did appear to be down to your rather biz are way of operating it and unplugging it…

      I must run a poll to prove this to you… but bottom line, for the kit cost above I would not get an iMac anywhere near that power, but then, whatever PC I get, it will never look as sexy as the imac does!

Leave a Reply

