It’s on order…. but is it OUT OF ORDER??



I have recently taken the step of purchasing one of the new 27″ iMac’s from Apple, and I have done it in a particular way so that I can see first hand how the process works, and how this information can be passed on to any of my clients.

I consider this 27” i7 iMac to be my last purchase in this line for at least the next 3 – 5 years, so I have went for components that I know will last, and also at a grade that will do everything that I need now and in the foreseeable future.

So, this time around I move away from my current 24″ iMac and have ordered up the following specification:

3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM – 2x2GB
1TB Serial ATA Drive
AMD
Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5
Magic Trackpad
Apple Wireless Keyboard
AppleCare Protection Plan for iMac/eMac

Now, you will see that I went for the standard serial ATA hard drive, over an SSD drive, and if you read tech reviews and listen to many other people, they will say that by buying the standard SATA drive I am going to have a slow system.

While SSD drives are good, and slick, and I use them in Windows based PC’s that I have here, the real-world difference for the average user is non-existent in a decent specked PC such as this iMac. You will find things a few seconds quicker to starts up, a few seconds….

So, anyone contemplating getting a system without the SSD, please don’t feel you are somehow buying something substandard, slow or old, what you are buying is tried and tested technology that works, and works extremely well.

Memory wise I will upgrade the system to 16GB, but I will buy the memory from crucial (http://www.crucial.com/uk/) as it’s considerably cheaper than buying the memory from Apple… err.. VASTLY CHEAPER!!!

One interesting thing that I did come up against, after announcing my purchase on Twitter, was the general excitement from a lot of folk, who all wished me good luck with the new equipment etc., and a few snide remarks from some people as though I was ramming this information down their throats as though I was bragging…. and some of these people are not the type to purchase stuff with their own money… so talk about double standards!

Like a lot of people, I enjoy technology, I get excited with technology, so I like to tell the world about getting new equipment… more so when it’s a major purchased, worked for with blood sweat and tears. Anyone out there who feels that I am being elitist and shoving this down their throats, in some way to make them feel I am better than them, have more than them etc., are quite pathetic, sad and delusional.

We are all on different incomes, some people have excellent salaries, and some people just save up and buy once they have saved up enough money. Others will buy their equipment on finance, and some just have limited incomes and will never really be able to afford the equipment that they would like. That is just the way the world works!

To anyone who cannot afford equipment, be happy with what you currently have, and don’t go getting upset over something that really is trivial, after all it’s only computer equipment! If it really does get you down, then maybe you need to use what you have to try to generate money, save up and get what you want? Sure, it will take time, and require effort, but for most of us, that’s how manage to get what we want… through blood sweat and tears!

So, is it “Out of Order” to promote my new equipment online? Is this something that everyone now has to take on board, that by buying some new piece of hardware that is costly, we may be offending some people by daring to tell the world about it?

So, the order has been placed and in the next few days my new system will arrive, and of course I will bore people with a new un-boxing video….

Posted on May 8, 2011, in Apple, Opinion, Wittering. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Gordon,

    You havde been one of the consistent, shining lights in my online world. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you.

    I’m thrilled to learn of your computer purchases. You work hard and deserve the right to enjoy the gadgets you can afford.

    Yeah, I’m one of the poor ones who can’t afford all that stuff. Maybe I get a bit jealous. But I’d never lash out at you!

    Oh, remember I want it all and I want it now.

    Take care, Mate

    Ron

    • Hi Ron,

      Thanks for the comments, really appreciated.

      You have created a vast amount of material online, more than I ever could or will be able to, and all using the equipment you have collected through the years. As I posted now and again, it’s not the hardware that creates the content, its the talent behind the equipment that used what they have, to create.

      A poor artist blames his tools, a real artist just gets on with it, and works towards his goals!

      Continue on your current path and you will find that the pennies soon mount up, and who knows what opportunities may present themselves as time goes on.

      If you want it all, you are on that road, onwards and onwards!!!

  2. Hey, Gordon. I just came across your unboxing/installing 16 gig of memory in your 27″ iMac. I’m going to be ordering one today, and I was wondering what your benchmark stats were, I thought the video said they’d be posted on your site.

    For me, the most dramatic visible performance improvement is Photoshop CS6. When dealing with HDR, on my 4 gig Core 2 MacBook Pro (2007) and my 2011 i5 Air with 4 gig, there is a visible processing lag when the HDR is converted in to Photoshop. On the 16 gig i7 iMacs in the computer lab at uni the conversion is so fast as to be invisible.

    My other plan is to try to run multiple instances of Parallels to test various SQL Server replication scenarios. I’ve been a Microsoft guy for over 25 years and a SQL Server DBA for over 20, but I happily went Mac 5 years ago and have been blissfully happy with my kit. The only thing that I run Windows for is MS Access and SQL Server.

    Thanks!

    • You will really notice the difference when using the programs you mentioned.
      I have run a test there on my system, but I did upload my test to their site as well.. but in saying that, I cannot find it now!!!!

      Anyway, here is something you can mull over and see what you think!!!

      Parallels 8 runs like a dream on this system, and I have a number of vm’s going at the same time daily as part of my day to day work.

      Would be interested in your own findings after the upgrade to see what you think!

      Geekbench Browser
      Geekbench 2

      iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
      Section Description Score Geekbench Score
      Geekbench 2.3.4 Tryout for Mac OS X x86 (64-bit)
      Integer Processor integer performance 10296 12245
      Floating Point Processor floating point performance 19027
      Memory Memory performance 6138
      Stream Memory bandwidth performance 7552
      Result Information
      Upload Date October 17 2012 04:52 PM
      Views 1
      System Information
      iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
      Operating System Mac OS X 10.8.2 (Build 12C60)
      Model iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
      Processor Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.40 GHz
      1 processor, 4 cores, 8 threads
      Processor ID GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
      L1 Instruction Cache 32 KB x 4
      L1 Data Cache 32 KB x 4
      L2 Cache 256 KB x 4
      L3 Cache 8192 KB
      Motherboard Apple Inc. Mac-942B59F58194171B iMac12,2
      BIOS Apple Inc. IM121.88Z.0047.B1F.1201241648
      Memory 16384 MB 1333 MHz DDR3
      Integer Performance
      Integer 10296
      Blowfish
      single-core scalar 2165
      95.1 MB/sec

      Blowfish
      multi-core scalar 13578
      556 MB/sec

      Text Compress
      single-core scalar 3521
      11.3 MB/sec

      Text Compress
      multi-core scalar 17773
      58.3 MB/sec

      Text Decompress
      single-core scalar 3814
      15.7 MB/sec

      Text Decompress
      multi-core scalar 19117
      76.2 MB/sec

      Image Compress
      single-core scalar 3219
      26.6 Mpixels/sec

      Image Compress
      multi-core scalar 14501
      122 Mpixels/sec

      Image Decompress
      single-core scalar 2738
      46.0 Mpixels/sec

      Image Decompress
      multi-core scalar 13425
      219 Mpixels/sec

      Lua
      single-core scalar 5321
      2.05 Mnodes/sec

      Lua
      multi-core scalar 24380
      9.38 Mnodes/sec

      Floating Point Performance
      Floating Point 19027
      Mandelbrot
      single-core scalar 3046
      2.03 Gflops

      Mandelbrot
      multi-core scalar 21082
      13.8 Gflops

      Dot Product
      single-core scalar 5034
      2.43 Gflops

      Dot Product
      multi-core scalar 25094
      11.4 Gflops

      Dot Product
      single-core vector 6020
      7.21 Gflops

      Dot Product
      multi-core vector 35161
      36.6 Gflops

      LU Decomposition
      single-core scalar 2733
      2.43 Gflops

      LU Decomposition
      multi-core scalar 4149
      3.64 Gflops

      Primality Test
      single-core scalar 8504
      1.27 Gflops

      Primality Test
      multi-core scalar 33791
      6.27 Gflops

      Sharpen Image
      single-core scalar 7237
      16.9 Mpixels/sec

      Sharpen Image
      multi-core scalar 46823
      108 Mpixels/sec

      Blur Image
      single-core scalar 8383
      6.63 Mpixels/sec

      Blur Image
      multi-core scalar 59328
      46.6 Mpixels/sec

      Memory Performance
      Memory 6138
      Read Sequential
      single-core scalar 6847
      8.38 GB/sec

      Write Sequential
      single-core scalar 10020
      6.85 GB/sec

      Stdlib Allocate
      single-core scalar 4586
      17.1 Mallocs/sec

      Stdlib Write
      single-core scalar 4007
      8.29 GB/sec

      Stdlib Copy
      single-core scalar 5234
      5.40 GB/sec

      Stream Performance
      Stream 7552
      Stream Copy
      single-core scalar 7275
      9.95 GB/sec

      Stream Copy
      single-core vector 8246
      10.7 GB/sec

      Stream Scale
      single-core scalar 7171
      9.31 GB/sec

      Stream Scale
      single-core vector 7976
      10.8 GB/sec

      Stream Add
      single-core scalar 7043
      10.6 GB/sec

      Stream Add
      single-core vector 8648
      12.0 GB/sec

      Stream Triad
      single-core scalar 7592
      10.5 GB/sec

      Stream Triad
      single-core vector 6465
      12.1 GB/sec

      COMPARE
      Set Baseline
      iMac (27-inch Mid 2011) Benchmark Chart
      Mac Benchmark Chart
      Processor Benchmark Chart

Leave a Reply

