DOES SIZE REALLY MATTER?



IS A 64GB SSD – TOO SMALL?

To evaluate SSD technology, I bought a Crucial 64GB drive a while back (video here) and have been using it on the main Windows 7 PC here ever since.

I consume and store a lot of data, so you would think that this device would have been too small for any serious use? Not really, if you decide to manage exactly what the drive is being used for, and for me that was for speeding up the operating system, with my data stored on 2TB drives attached to the main system. It has worked fine, been very quick, and has in fact pushed me into being more thoughtful on what I do and where I store data, rather than just dumping it onto the desktop in a folder!

I have been tempted to get another SSD drive for use in my MacBook Pro, but once again, I don’t want to spend a lot of money… so I thought I would do a test to see if I could manage with the Crucial 64GB SSD inside the MBP, and see how long it would take before I encountered storage issues!

So, I removed the internal 320GB hard drive and replaced it with the Crucial 64GB SSD (video here) and proceeded to install Lion onto it via a DVD I had made earlier.

After, what seemed like an eternity, Lion finally installed and I than had to download all the new updates that recently came out for iCloud iTunes, iPhoto etc…

Yes, this actually felt like I was back to a Windows XP machine and having to wait ages for it to install and update fully!

Windows 7 systems are up and running in 20 minutes…. Well the one’s I have done and that’s a lot, so let’s say well done to Microsoft on this side of things!!!

So… after the installation of Lion, and all my applications have been installed, my email configured what am I left with to play with??? 36GB of space!

On my MBP I don’t store music, I don’t store much video or Photographs, that’s all handled by my I7 27″ iMac, so (in theory) I really should be ok with the amount of space I have left… but as I mentioned at the start of this post, this is a long-term evaluation, and I’ll update this post as time goes on, and that way you get a serious and useful evaluation on whether size really does matter at all, depending on your own storage needs.

So, when other people comment on your size (of data storage) don’t worry, as it’s all about how you use it, and that’s all that matters!

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Apple, Hardware, How To, Opinion, SSD, Wittering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ll be interested to hear more about your SSD experiences as they progress.

    SSDs are not an option for me. They won’t work in my older 24″ iMac. We checked the specs. I wouldn’t want to open my Mac mini for fear or violating the AppleCare warranty.

    Size is also a big factor. My Poser materials consume around 50 GB alone. And I’d love to run Poser on an SSD.

  2. The thing is Ron, I’m trying to assess whether 64GB really is a viable option for anyone to use for day to day activities (not video work and the likes).

    Some people are desperate to try the latest technology, but sadly they cannot afford the top end stuff.

    I bought the 64GB unit due to cost, and mainly to test to see if this technology was all it was hyped up to be. Time will tell how it all goes!!!!

Leave a Reply

